Call: +91 11 26594425
IAP Council

The Council comprises of representatives whose activities are wholly or largely devoted to the study of the pancreas. Distribution by geography and discipline is desirable. Council members serve for four years and their term may be renewed for a second term. Appointment is recommended by the Executive Committee and approved by the Council.

The Council meets at least annually and from time to time as determined by the Executive Committee to determine policy and direction for the Association, and approval of major decisions for functioning of the organization.

title icon
IAP Council

Executive Committee


Thomas Gress, M.D.
Department of Gastroenterology, Endocrinology,
Metabolism and Infectiology
University Hospital of Marburg and Philipps
Marburg, Germany

President Elect

Yoshifumi Takeyama, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor & Chairman
Department of Surgery, Division of Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic Surgery,
Kindai University Faculty of Medicine
Osaka, Japan

Past President

Suresh Chari, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Specialty: Gastroenterology
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine,
Rochester, USA


Santhi Swaroop Vege, M.D.

Professor of Medicine
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine,
Rochester, USA
Chair: AGA Pancreatic Disorder section


Pramod Garg, M.D.
Professor of Gastroenterology,
All India Institute of Medical Sciences,
New Delhi, India

title icon
IAP Council

Council 2019

Marc Besselink, Netherlands
Suresh Chari, USA
Marco del Chiaro, Sweden
Luca Frulloni, Italy
Junji Furuse, Japan
Philip A Hart, USA
Timothy Gardner, USA
Pramod Garg, India
Thomas Gress, Germany
Myung-Hwan Kim, South Korea
Sun-Whe Kim,South Korea

Atsushi Masamune, Japan
Min Li, USA
Julia Mayerle, Germany
Grazya Rydzewska, Poland
Kyoko Shimizu, Japan
Yoshifumi Takeyama, Japan
Santhi S Vege, USA
Huaizhi Wang, China
Jens Werner, Munich, Germany
Hiroki Yamaue, Japan

title icon
IAP Council


Kyoichi Takaori (representing Pancreatology)
Kazuichi Okazaki, Hirakata (representing AOPA)